Have you ever wondered what your children are learning in school?

We expect teachers cover the basics: reading, writing, arithmetic, social studies, physical education and science. But beyond that, many parents remain unsure of what exactly children in each grade are expected to know in each subject area by year’s end.

The Ontario Elementary Curriculum lays out, in detail, what those expectations are; breaking achievement levels within each grade into four levels: Level One, Level Two, Level Three and Level Four.

Teachers use these Levels to determine what letter grade to give your child in each subject.

The curriculum documents also provide exemplars, or examples, of what levels of writing are associated with Levels 1-4.

To check out the expectations in each grade, material covered, the Levels and exemplars for each grade click below.

Search By Grade

Kindergarten Grade 1 Grade 2
Grade 3 Grade 4 Grade 5
Grade 6 Grade 7 Grade 8


Search By Subject

Science and Technology Mathematics Language
The Arts Social Studies Native Languages
Health and Physical Education French as a Second Language The Kindergarten Program